Skip to content
AF
React Native library

react-native-health

JavaScript · npm: react-native-health · latest 1.19.0 (2024-10-15) · registry read 2026-10-03

react-native-health is an npm package that bridges React Native apps to Apple HealthKit on iOS; it does not cover Android. Its README asks for the HealthKit capability and two Info.plist usage strings, and says the package is not available in Expo Go. Since August 2023 the README has said its maintainers are focused on a Swift rewrite and holding off on new features, and the latest npm release is 1.19.0 from October 2024 — so check that the HealthKit types you need are supported before you build on it.

What it wraps

  • Apple HealthKit, on iOS only. The README introduces it as a package to interact with Apple HealthKit for iOS, written in Objective-C (its background-delivery setup edits AppDelegate.m).

    “A React Native package to interact with Apple HealthKit for iOS.”

    Source: README

Named in the registry description: Apple HealthKit.

Install

Add the package

yarn add react-native-health

From the README

Install the pod (from the ios/ folder)

pod install

From the README

Registry and repository facts

Read from npm and the repository by a script, not typed by hand. Where the metadata does not state something, the row says so. Dates are shown as dates, with the gap to our read, rather than as a verdict on whether the project is alive.

Latest version
1.19.0, published 2024-10-15718 days before our 2026-10-03 read
First published
2020-09-21 · 40 versions published
Licence
MITpackage.json license
Platforms
not stated in registry metadata
Requires
react-native >=0.67.3package.json peerDependencies
Last commit, default branch
2024-10-15718 days before our 2026-10-03 read · read by git on 2026-10-03
GitHub signals
1,163 stars · 157 open issues and PRs · not archived · last push to any branch 2026-04-27GitHub API, read 2026-10-03

Registry description: “A React Native package to interact with Apple HealthKit”

What the README warns about

Each item is the project’s own statement, checked on 2026-10-03, quoted where the wording matters.

  • New features are on hold. A README section dated August 2023 says the maintainers are building a Swift version with a new interface, are holding off on new features until then, and welcome pull requests for critical bug fixes and dependency issues.

    “As we are fully focused in it, we're temporarily holding off on introducing new features.”

    Source: README

  • No Expo Go. The README says the package cannot run in the Expo Go app and points to custom development clients instead.

    “This package is not available in the Expo Go app.”

    Source: README

  • Background delivery is native setup. The README's background section adds #import "RCTAppleHealthKit.h" and [[RCTAppleHealthKit new] initializeBackgroundObservers:bridge]; to AppDelegate.m — an Objective-C app delegate, which newer Swift-template projects will need to bridge.

    Source: README

  • Two repository names, one repository. The npm metadata still names agencyenterprise/react-native-healthkit, while the README and our SDK release tracker use agencyenterprise/react-native-health. On 2026-10-03 a git fetch of both addresses returned the same default-branch commit, so they are one repository under an old and a new name.

    Source: npm registry metadata and a git fetch of both URLs

The API underneath

A wrapper inherits every rule of the API it calls. These pages cover that layer directly.

Other React Native packages on this list

React Native health data libraries: every package side by side, and how to choose →

Questions

Does react-native-health work on Android?
No. Its README describes it as a package for Apple HealthKit on iOS, and HealthKit does not exist on Android. React Native apps that also ship on Android usually pair it with react-native-health-connect, whose own README lists react-native-health as the iOS counterpart.
Can I use react-native-health with Expo?
Not in Expo Go. The README says the package is not available in the Expo Go app and points to custom development clients instead, so you need a development build that compiles the native module in.
Which Info.plist keys does react-native-health need?
The README lists NSHealthShareUsageDescription and NSHealthUpdateUsageDescription, plus NSHealthClinicalHealthRecordsShareUsageDescription only if you request clinical records. It also asks you to add the HealthKit capability to the target in Xcode, and to tick Clinical Health Records there if you use clinical types.

Registry facts read by scripts/fetch-libraries.mjs on 2026-10-03 and refreshed weekly; the latest release was published 718 days before our 2026-10-03 read. README quotes identify the project’s own statements; the selection, grouping and comparisons are AIFitnessAPI’s. For tagged releases of the main bridges, see the SDK release tracker.

← All health and fitness libraries