Skip to content
AF
Python library

oura (python-ouraring)

Python · PyPI: oura · latest 1.3.0 (2024-04-23) · registry read 2026-10-03

oura is the PyPI name of python-ouraring, an older Python client for the Oura API. Its README says the maintainer cannot commit to the quality and responsiveness users deserve and invites someone to take the project over, and that the v2 clients have not been tested with the OAuth2 flow. Its examples still start from a personal access token, which Oura stopped issuing in December 2025 according to the oura-ring README; its latest PyPI release dates from April 2024.

What it wraps

  • The Oura API, with v2 clients under oura.v2 (OuraClientV2, OuraClientDataFrameV2) whose methods are named after the URL paths, per the README.

    Source: README

Named in the registry description: Oura API.

Install

From PyPI

pip install oura

From the README

Registry and repository facts

Read from PyPI and the repository by a script, not typed by hand. Where the metadata does not state something, the row says so. Dates are shown as dates, with the gap to our read, rather than as a verdict on whether the project is alive.

Registry
PyPI: oura
Latest version
1.3.0, published 2024-04-23893 days before our 2026-10-03 read
First published
2019-01-08 · 5 versions published
Licence
MIT LicensePyPI classifier "License :: OSI Approved :: MIT License"
Platforms
not stated in registry metadata
Requires
python >=3.8PyPI requires_python
Last commit, default branch
2024-04-23893 days before our 2026-10-03 read · read by git on 2026-10-03
GitHub signals
144 stars · 7 open issues and PRs · not archived · last push to any branch 2024-04-23GitHub API, read 2026-10-03

Registry description: “Oura API client”

What the README warns about

Each item is the project’s own statement, checked on 2026-10-03, quoted where the wording matters.

  • A handover request. The README asks anyone interested in taking over maintenance to get in touch or open an issue, or to fork and publish under a new name.

    “I still plan on doing what I can to keep this up to date, but don't feel I can commit to maintaining a level of quality and responsiveness that you all deserve.”

    Source: README

  • The v2 caveat.

    “I haven't tested the v2 clients with the OAuth2 flow.”

    Source: README

  • Personal access tokens. The README's getting-started path is a PAT. The oura-ring README says Oura deprecated PATs in December 2025, so new ones cannot be created.

    Source: oura-ring README

The API underneath

A wrapper inherits every rule of the API it calls. These pages cover that layer directly.

Other Python packages on this list

Python libraries for fitness APIs: every package side by side, and how to choose →

  • garminconnect0.3.17 · 2026-09-29Garmin Connect's web services, signed in as the user with their own credentials.
  • garth0.8.0 · 2026-03-28Garmin's SSO login and the Garmin Connect API, through the mobile auth approach the README says Garmin's change broke.
  • stravalib2.6.0 · 2026-08-27The Strava V3 REST API, through a stravalib.client.Client class, per the README.
  • oura-ring1.0.1 · 2026-06-22The Oura API v2.
  • fitbit0.3.1 · 2019-05-24The legacy Fitbit Web API, using requests-oauthlib and python-dateutil according to the README's requirements.
  • withings-api2.4.0 · 2022-02-08The Withings Health API over OAuth 2.0, through WithingsAuth and WithingsApi, per the README.

Questions

Does the oura Python package support the Oura v2 API?
It ships v2 clients: the README shows OuraClientV2 and OuraClientDataFrameV2 imported from oura.v2, with methods named after the API's URL paths. The same README says the maintainer has not tested the v2 clients with the OAuth2 flow.
Is python-ouraring the same package as oura on PyPI?
Yes. The repository is turing-complet/python-ouraring and the README installs it with pip install oura; there is no PyPI distribution called python-ouraring. It is a different project from oura-ring, which is a separate client for the Oura API v2.

Registry facts read by scripts/fetch-libraries.mjs on 2026-10-03 and refreshed weekly; the latest release was published 893 days before our 2026-10-03 read. README quotes identify the project’s own statements; the selection, grouping and comparisons are AIFitnessAPI’s. For tagged releases of the main bridges, see the SDK release tracker.

← All health and fitness libraries