Skip to content
AF
Library comparison

oura-ring vs oura (python-ouraring)

Registry data read 2026-10-03

Both are third-party Python clients for the Oura API. oura-ring targets the Oura API v2, ships an OAuth2 helper, and its README tells new integrations to use OAuth2 now that Oura has stopped issuing personal access tokens; its latest release is from June 2026. oura (repository python-ouraring) has v2 clients its maintainer says are untested with OAuth2, a README asking for someone to take over maintenance, and a latest release from April 2024.

Side by side

Every cell is read from the registries and the repositories by a script. There is no winner row.

Factoura-ringoura
RegistryPyPI: oura-ringPyPI: oura
Latest version1.0.11.3.0
Latest published2026-06-22 (103 days before our 2026-10-03 read)2024-04-23 (893 days before our 2026-10-03 read)
First published2022-09-022019-01-08
Versions published55
LicenceMIT (PyPI license field)MIT License (PyPI classifier "License :: OSI Approved :: MIT License")
Platformsnot stated in registry metadatanot stated in registry metadata
Requirespython >=3.12 (PyPI requires_python)python >=3.8 (PyPI requires_python)
Deprecatedno deprecation in the registryno deprecation in the registry
Status classifierDevelopment Status :: 5 - Production/Stable—
Last commit, default branch2026-07-072024-04-23
GitHub stars / archived92 stars · not archived (read 2026-10-03)144 stars · not archived (read 2026-10-03)

What each README says

oura-ring

  • OuraAuth wraps the authorization-code flow: authorize_url, exchange_code, refresh_token.

    Source: README

  • States that personal access tokens were deprecated by Oura in December 2025 and new integrations must use OAuth2.

    Source: README

oura

  • v2 clients under oura.v2, not tested with the OAuth2 flow according to the maintainer.

    Source: README

  • The maintainer invites someone to take over the project or publish a fork under a new name.

    Source: README

How to choose: our reading

Judgement, labelled as such, drawn only from the facts above.

  • New integration: it has to use OAuth2 (no new personal access tokens), and oura-ring is the one whose README documents that flow end to end.
  • Existing script on oura with a previously issued token: it may keep working, but neither the token nor the client's v2 OAuth path is something to build new work on.
  • Either way, both wrap the same Oura API, so Oura's app registration and scopes apply identically.

Questions

Which Python Oura client supports OAuth2?
oura-ring documents it fully: OuraAuth builds the authorization URL, exchanges the code and refreshes the token, and its README calls OAuth2 the recommended path. The oura package (python-ouraring) has an OAuth2 client too, but its README says the v2 clients were not tested with the OAuth2 flow.
Is the oura Python package still maintained?
Its README says the maintainer will keep it up to date where possible but cannot commit to the quality and responsiveness users deserve, and asks for someone to take it over. Its latest PyPI release was published 2024-04-23.

← All health and fitness libraries