Skip to content
AF
Comparisons

ExerciseDB vs API Ninjas: GIFs and Video or a Simple Exercise Lookup?

Last verified October 27, 2026 · 5 min read

Sources checked (7) · October 27, 2026
Pick ExerciseDB, now sold by AscendAPI, when your app needs demonstration media: its V1 serves 1,500 exercises with GIFs free and with no key, and its V2 on RapidAPI gives each exercise an MP4 video, watermarked on the free 200-exercise plan. Pick API Ninjas Exercises when text metadata and a start and finish photo are enough and you want terms you can read: commercial use starts at $59 a month, or $39 billed yearly, and storing the data needs the Business plan. Both were checked on October 27, 2026.

Covered here:ExerciseDBwger

Disclosure: this site is funded by KinesteX, which sells a motion-tracking SDK for fitness apps. Neither API on this page is ours, and we have no reason to prefer either. AscendAPI and API Ninjas facts come from their own documentation, home and pricing pages, read through a source snapshot on October 27, 2026; every count below is the vendor's own figure.

First, which ExerciseDB?#

The exercisedb.dev home page now reads "Previously ExerciseDB" above the name AscendAPI, and it sells two exercise products. ExerciseDB V1 is free with no key at oss.exercisedb.dev, 1,500 exercises with 180p GIFs, with a paid tier on RapidAPI. ExerciseDB V2 is on RapidAPI only, with an MP4 video per exercise. On this page "ExerciseDB" means those two. ExerciseDB vs wger covers the older RapidAPI listing under the same name.

API Ninjas is a catalog of small APIs sold under one key, and its Exercises API is one of them. The two meet on the same question, "give my app an exercise list", but they sell different things: ExerciseDB sells media, and API Ninjas sells a simple lookup.

ExerciseDB vs API Ninjas at a glance#

ExerciseDB (AscendAPI)API Ninjas Exercises
Catalog, vendor's figureV1: 1,500 free, "over 2,000" in total; V2: 11,000+"over 3000 exercises"
MediaV1: one 180p GIF free, images and GIFs at 360p to 1080p paid; V2: MP4 video and images, watermarked on the free planimages: start and finish photos, premium plans only; no GIF or video
MusclesbodyParts, targetMuscles and secondaryMuscles arraysOne muscle per exercise, from 16 values
Per callPaginated REST endpoints, per AscendAPI/v1/exercises returns up to 5; paging with offset is premium
Free tierV1: no sign-up, no key; V2 Basic: 2,000 requests a month, 200 exercises3,000 calls a month, 100 an hour, evaluation and demo only
Commercial useTerms not stated on the pages we readPaid plans only, from $59 a month or $39 billed yearly
Storing dataNot stated on the pages we readBusiness plan and above
AuthNone for V1 free; X-RapidAPI-Key for everything elseX-Api-Key

Prices for every plan are in exercise database API pricing.

Where ExerciseDB wins#

Demonstration media. AscendAPI's V2 overview says "Each exercise includes an MP4 demonstration video for in-app playback", alongside images at 360p, 480p, 720p and 1080p, and it states 11,000+ exercises, 15,000+ videos and 20,000+ images. V1's paid tier serves images and GIFs at the same four sizes, and its free tier one 180p GIF per exercise. API Ninjas returns photos only, and only on premium plans. For a workout player, that difference usually decides it; exercise APIs with video compares every source of demo video.

Richer records. A V1 record carries arrays of body parts, target muscles, secondary muscles and equipment, plus step-by-step instructions. V2 adds an overview, exerciseTips, variations, keywords and relatedExerciseIds. API Ninjas returns one primary muscle per exercise.

A free path you can ship a prototype on. V1's free tier needs no sign-up and no key, and AscendAPI's rate-limit guide gives free plans "a limit of 1,000 requests per hour per API key". V2's Basic plan, per AscendAPI's quickstart, is free with 2,000 requests a month, 200 exercises, images and videos, and no credit card.

Where API Ninjas wins#

Terms you can read before you build. API Ninjas' pricing page puts commercial use, data storage, rate limits, attribution and uptime in one table. The Free plan is "Evaluation and demo purposes only", with attribution required and no commercial use; Developer adds commercial use with 100,000 calls a month and a 99% uptime SLA; Business adds "Data caching/storing allowed" with 1,000,000 calls and a 99.95% SLA. AscendAPI's pages we read state rate limits but not its terms on commercial use or on keeping a copy of the data, and its paid prices sit on RapidAPI listings our snapshot did not read.

One key, no marketplace. API Ninjas keys come from its own site and go in an X-Api-Key header; ExerciseDB's paid tiers and all of V2 go through RapidAPI, with its own account, subscription and X-RapidAPI-Key. If your app already calls other API Ninjas endpoints, such as its Calories Burned API, one plan covers them all.

Simple filters and safety cues. /v1/exercises filters by name (partial matches), type (seven values from cardio to strongman), muscle, difficulty (beginner, intermediate or expert) and equipments, and each result carries instructions and safety_info. API Ninjas' FAQ also promises that over-quota requests "will simply be denied", so a traffic spike never bills you beyond your plan.

The catches on each side#

ExerciseDB. Free V2 media is watermarked; AscendAPI says paid plans serve "clean, watermark-free assets". Some fields in its schema tables are still marked "Next Update" or "Coming Soon", among them muscle activation images on both versions and a difficulty level on V2, so check the field you need is "Available" before designing around it.

API Ninjas. /v1/exercises "Returns up to 5 exercises", and the offset parameter that pages past them is premium. The full list of exercise names for a muscle group, /v1/allexercises, is for "Business tier and above, or any annual plan". The Developer plan does not allow caching or storing data, so an app that keeps a local copy of the catalog needs Business.

Which should you pick?#

  • Video or animated demos in the app → ExerciseDB: V2 for MP4 video, V1 for GIFs.
  • A free prototype that may become a product → ExerciseDB V1 free or the V2 Basic plan to build, then read AscendAPI's paid plans and terms on RapidAPI before launch.
  • Text metadata and a still photo, under terms you can cite → API Ninjas on a paid plan; Business if you store the data.
  • Filtering by difficulty or equipment on a budget → API Ninjas' Developer plan covers both filters, while ExerciseDB V1 lists difficulty only in its paid-tier schema.
  • Data you own outright, with no API at all → neither: free-exercise-db is public domain. See ExerciseDB vs free-exercise-db.

The wider field, wger included, is in exercise database APIs compared and ExerciseDB alternatives.

Frequently asked questions

Does API Ninjas have exercise GIFs or videos like ExerciseDB?
No. API Ninjas' Exercises API documents an images field, premium only, with image URLs in movement order, usually the start and finish positions, and no GIF or video. ExerciseDB serves animated GIFs on its V1, a 180p GIF free and 360p to 1080p on the paid tier, and an MP4 demonstration video per exercise on its V2, watermarked on the free plan.
Which has more exercises, ExerciseDB or API Ninjas?
By the vendors' own figures, ExerciseDB V2: AscendAPI states 11,000+ exercises with 15,000+ videos and 20,000+ images. ExerciseDB V1 states over 2,000, 1,500 of them on the free tier, and API Ninjas says its Exercises API covers over 3000. We did not count either catalog, and API Ninjas returns at most five exercises per search call.
Can I use ExerciseDB or API Ninjas for free in a commercial app?
Not API Ninjas: its pricing page calls the Free plan evaluation and demo purposes only, and its FAQ says commercial use of the Exercises API is not permitted on the free tier. AscendAPI's documentation describes free tiers for ExerciseDB V1 and V2 but, on the pages we read on October 27, 2026, does not state its commercial-use terms, so read them on RapidAPI or ask AscendAPI before launch.
Do I need a RapidAPI account for ExerciseDB but not for API Ninjas?
Mostly, yes. ExerciseDB's V1 free tier needs no sign-up or key, but its paid V1 tier and every V2 plan are subscribed on RapidAPI and called with an X-RapidAPI-Key header. API Ninjas issues its own key from its website, passed in an X-Api-Key header, and one plan covers its other APIs too.

All 131 questions in Comparisons →

Keep reading

Elsewhere on the site

Pages that share this one’s concepts and sources, from other sections.

Next steps

Was this page useful?

Independent comparison, last reviewed October 27, 2026. Pricing, rate limits, and feature availability change often — confirm current details in each provider’s official documentation before you commit. Product and company names are trademarks of their respective owners; AIFitnessAPI is not affiliated with, endorsed by, or sponsored by any product listed here.

← All comparisons · by AIFitnessAPI